Call to Action: Wisconsin

State of Wisconsin Call to Action 
Tuesday, December 27, 2011 

Call to Action for Wisconsin RESIDENTS!

LRB 1287/1 and 3573/1:AN ACT to renumber 101.123 (1) (h); and to create 101.123 (1) (h) 2m. of the statutes.

This bill specifies that the term "smoking," for purposes of the general prohibition against smoking in indoor locations, does not include holding, or inhaling or exhaling vapor or a vaporized solution from, an electronic device that does not contain tobacco.

This bill would:

Specifically exempt electronic cigarettes from the statewide indoor smoking ban.


The bill's sponsor, Senator Grothman (WI-R) is currently seeking co-sponsorship. There is an identical bill introduced in the House. Groups such as the American Lung Association and the American Cancer Society are already contacting legislators in opposition of this bill. They also have issued a call to action to their members, who are already writing and calling their district legislators, asking them to oppose this bill. We need Wisconsin e-cigarette users to contact their legislators, both in the House and the Senate, to urge them to support this bill.
Please call or write the members of Wisconsin State Legislature listed below. Specifically target your district representatives. Phone calls and letters sent via mail or fax have a greater impact.

What to say:

1. You support Senator Grothman's bill to specifically exempt electronic cigarettes from the state indoor smoking ban.

2. Tell your story on how switching to an e-cigarette or smokeless tobacco has changed your life.

3. Explain how smoking bans are enacted to protect the public from the harm of second-hand smoke, but electronic cigarettes have not been shown to cause harm to bystanders. In fact, all scientific evidence to date shows that the low health risks associated with electronic cigarettes is comparable to other smokeless nicotine products. Include a link to or a copy of CASAA's report: "E-cigarettes and Smoke-free Policies." This comprehensive report includes all of the crucial supporting evidence to counter what the opposing groups are telling the legislators.

4. Let them know that vapor does not behave in the same manner as smoke. There is no "side stream" vapor like the side stream smoke coming from the lit end of a cigarette and unlike cigarette smoke. The vapor is virtually odorless and dissipates quickly. There is also no ash or litter. With so little evidence of use, enforcing indoor use bans on electronic cigarettes would be nearly impossible.

5. Inform them that the ability to use electronic cigarettes in public spaces will actually improve public health by inspiring other smokers to switch. Surveys of thousands of users indicate that the majority of those who switch very quickly completely replace tobacco cigarettes with the electronic cigarettes, reducing their health risks by 98-99%.

So even if smokers think they are using electronic cigarettes just for indoor use, the chances are high that they will stop using tobacco cigarettes altogether .

6. Tell them that by switching to a smokeless product, you have greatly reduced your health risks.

7. Direct them to the CASAA.org website and the CASAA report: "E-cigarettes and Smoke-free Policies" for more information.

Link to CASAA's letter to Wisconsin legislators:http://www.casaa.org/files/CASAA_Letter_to_Wisconsin_Legislators.pdf


To find your representative, click this link and enter your address:http://legis.wisconsin.gov/w3asp/waml/waml.aspx
Send an email supporting this bill to all representatives:

Semi-colon Separated

Rep.August@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Ballweg@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Barca@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Berceau@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.BernardSchaber@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Bernier@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Bewley@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Bies@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Brooks@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Clark@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Coggs@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Craig@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Cullen@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Danou@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Doyle@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Endsley@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Zipperer@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Fields@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Fitzgerald@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Grigsby@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Hebl@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Hintz@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Honadel@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Hulsey@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Jacque@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Jorgensen@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Kapenga@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Kaufert@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Kerkman@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Kessler@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Kestell@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Kleefisch@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Klenke@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Knilans@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Knodl@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Knudson@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Kooyenga@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Kramer@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Krug@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Krusick@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Kuglitsch@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Larson@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.LeMahieu@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Litjens@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Loudenbeck@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Marklein@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Mason@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Meyer@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Milroy@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Molepske@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Mursau@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Murtha@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Nass@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Nerison@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Nygren@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Ott@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.OttJ@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Pasch@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Petersen@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Petrowski@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Petryk@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Pocan@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Pope-Roberts@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Pridemore@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Radcliffe@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Richards@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Ringhand@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Ripp@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Rivard@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Roys@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Seidel@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Severson@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Shilling@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Sinicki@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Spanbauer@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Staskunas@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Steinbrink@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Steineke@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Stone@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Strachota@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Stroebel@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Suder@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Tauchen@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Taylor@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Thiesfeldt@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Tiffany@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Toles@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Tranel@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Turner@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.VanRoy@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Vos@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Vruwink@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Weininger@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.WilliamsM@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Wynn@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Young@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Zamarripa@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Zepnick@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Ziegelbauer@legis.wisconsin.gov

Sen.Carpenter@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Coggs@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Cowles@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Cullen@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Darling@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Ellis@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Erpenbach@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Fitzgerald@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Galloway@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Grothman@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Hansen@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Harsdorf@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Holperin@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.King@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Jauch@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Shilling@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Kedzie@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Carson@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Lassa@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Lassa@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Lazich@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Leibham@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Miller@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Moulton@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Olsen@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Risser@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Schultz@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Taylor@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Vinehout@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Vukmir@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Wangnaard@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Wirch@legis.wisconsin.gov; Sen.Zipperer@legis.wisconsin.gov


Comma Separated

Rep.August@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Ballweg@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Barca@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Berceau@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.BernardSchaber@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Bernier@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Bewley@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Bies@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.Brooks@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Clark@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Coggs@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Craig@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.Cullen@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Danou@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Doyle@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Endsley@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.Zipperer@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Fields@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Fitzgerald@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Grigsby@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.Hebl@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Hintz@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Honadel@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Hulsey@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.Jacque@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Jorgensen@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Kapenga@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Kaufert@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.Kerkman@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Kessler@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Kestell@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Kleefisch@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.Klenke@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Knilans@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Knodl@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Knudson@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.Kooyenga@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Kramer@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Krug@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Krusick@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.Kuglitsch@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Larson@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.LeMahieu@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Litjens@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.Loudenbeck@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Marklein@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Mason@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Meyer@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.Milroy@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Molepske@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Mursau@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Murtha@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.Nass@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Nerison@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Nygren@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Ott@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.OttJ@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Pasch@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Petersen@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Petrowski@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.Petryk@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Pocan@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Pope-Roberts@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Pridemore@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Radcliffe@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Richards@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Ringhand@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Ripp@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.Rivard@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Roys@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Seidel@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Severson@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.Shilling@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Sinicki@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Spanbauer@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Staskunas@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.Steinbrink@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Steineke@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Stone@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Strachota@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.Stroebel@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Suder@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Tauchen@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Taylor@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.Thiesfeldt@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Tiffany@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Toles@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Tranel@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.Turner@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.VanRoy@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Vos@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Vruwink@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.Weininger@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.WilliamsM@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Wynn@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Young@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.Zamarripa@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Zepnick@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Ziegelbauer@legis.wisconsin.gov

Sen.Carpenter@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Coggs@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Cowles@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Cullen@legis.wisconsin.gov,Sen.Darling@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Ellis@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Erpenbach@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Fitzgerald@legis.wisconsin.gov,Sen.Galloway@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Grothman@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Hansen@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Harsdorf@legis.wisconsin.gov,Sen.Holperin@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.King@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Jauch@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Shilling@legis.wisconsin.gov,Sen.Kedzie@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Carson@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Lassa@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Lassa@legis.wisconsin.gov,Sen.Lazich@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Leibham@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Miller@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Moulton@legis.wisconsin.gov,Sen.Olsen@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Risser@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Schultz@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Taylor@legis.wisconsin.gov,Sen.Vinehout@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Vukmir@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Wangnaard@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Wirch@legis.wisconsin.gov,Sen.Zipperer@legis.wisconsin.gov