CTA: Mississippi

Mississippi Call to Action 
Saturday, February 25, 2012 

MISSISSIPPI SMOKE-FREE AIR ACT OF 2012
Link to HB892
Link to SB2713

These bills would: 
Enact a smoking ban which includes electronic cigarette use in the definition of smoking, and would ban vaping anywhere smoking is prohibited.

Two bills have been introduced into the Mississippi State Legislature which would include the use of electronic cigarettes in the definition of smoking.  They have been referred to the Standing Public Health Committees.

Please call, write or fax the members of the Senate Public Health and Welfare Committee and House Public Health and Human Services Committee listed below.
(When writing to the Senate, refer to SB2713, when writing to the House, refer to HB892.)

What to say:
1. You would like them to amend Section 3, definition of "Smoking" to replace the last sentence of the definition with this text, "The term does not include the use of an e-cigarette or any other type of smoke-free product.".
 
Encourage them to also remove [paragraph (o) for HB, paragraph (p) for SB] of Section 2 because it grossly misrepresents the findings of FDA's laboratory test, which confirmed that e-cigarettes don't emit any tobacco smoke and contain nontoxic constituents, with similar trace levels of nitrosamines as found in nicotine gums and patches, and far lower levels than most smokeless tobacco products (none of whose usage would be banned by the proposal). 

2. Tell your story on how switching to an e-cigarette or smokeless tobacco has changed your life.

3. Explain how electronic cigarette use is easy to distinguish from actual smoking. Although some e-cigarettes resemble real cigarettes, many do not. It is easy to tell when someone lights a cigarette, from the smell of smoke. E-cigarette vapor is practically odorless, and generally any detectable odor is not unpleasant and smells nothing like smoke.

4. Let them know that vapor does not behave in the same manner as smoke. There is no "side stream" vapor like the side stream smoke coming from the lit end of a cigarette. There is also no ash or litter. With so little evidence of use, enforcing indoor use bans on electronic cigarettes would be nearly impossible.

5. Inform them that the ability to use electronic cigarettes in public spaces will actually improve public health by inspiring other smokers to switch. Surveys of thousands of users indicate that the majority of those who switch, completely replace tobacco cigarettes with the electronic cigarettes, reducing their health risks by 98-99%.

6. Tell them that by switching to a smokeless product, you have greatly reduced your health risks.

7. Direct them to the CASAA.org website for more information.

Contact information:

Mississippi State Capitol
P. O. Box 1018 
Jackson, MS 39215

House Public Health and Human Services Committee email lists:
Semi-colon separated email list
smims@house.ms.gov; tbarker@house.ms.gov; baldridge@house.ms.gov; cbrown@house.ms.gov; kcampbell@house.ms.gov; bclark@house.ms.gov; mcoleman@house.ms.gov; ccrawford@house.ms.gov; bcurrie@house.ms.gov; ddebar@house.ms.gov; jevans@house.ms.gov; gflaggs@house.ms.gov; efhamilton@house.ms.gov; jhines@house.ms.gov; jhood@house.ms.gov; khoran@house.ms.gov; bhowell@house.ms.gov; hlott@house.ms.gov; bmayo@house.ms.gov; kmcgee@house.ms.gov; tmiles@house.ms.gov; bmoak@house.ms.gov; jread@house.ms.gov; rrushing@house.ms.gov; bshows@house.ms.gov; jsmith@house.ms.gov; jupshaw@house.ms.gov; pwatson@house.ms.gov; lwhittington@house.ms.gov

Comma separated email list:
smims@house.ms.gov, tbarker@house.ms.gov, baldridge@house.ms.gov, cbrown@house.ms.gov, kcampbell@house.ms.gov, bclark@house.ms.gov, mcoleman@house.ms.gov, ccrawford@house.ms.gov, bcurrie@house.ms.gov, ddebar@house.ms.gov, jevans@house.ms.gov, gflaggs@house.ms.gov, efhamilton@house.ms.gov, jhines@house.ms.gov, jhood@house.ms.gov, khoran@house.ms.gov, bhowell@house.ms.gov, hlott@house.ms.gov, bmayo@house.ms.gov, kmcgee@house.ms.gov, tmiles@house.ms.gov, bmoak@house.ms.gov, jread@house.ms.gov, rrushing@house.ms.gov, bshows@house.ms.gov, jsmith@house.ms.gov, jupshaw@house.ms.gov, pwatson@house.ms.gov, lwhittington@house.ms.gov

Senate Public Health and Welfare Committee email lists:
Semi-colon separated email list: 
dkirby@senate.ms.gov; hbryan@senate.ms.gov; dblount@senate.ms.gov; tburton@senate.ms.gov; ncollins@senate.ms.gov; mflowers@senate.ms.gov; hfrazier@senate.ms.gov; aharden@senate.ms.gov; jharkins@senate.ms.gov; bhopson@senate.ms.gov; gjackson@senate.ms.gov; kjones@senate.ms.gov; rparks@senate.ms.gov; wsimmons@senate.ms.gov; tsmith@senate.ms.gov; msojourner@senate.ms.gov; gtollison@senate.ms.gov; bturner@senate.ms.gov; bwiggins@senate.ms.gov

Comma separated email list:
dkirby@senate.ms.gov, hbryan@senate.ms.gov, dblount@senate.ms.gov, tburton@senate.ms.gov, ncollins@senate.ms.gov, mflowers@senate.ms.gov, hfrazier@senate.ms.gov, aharden@senate.ms.gov, jharkins@senate.ms.gov, bhopson@senate.ms.gov, gjackson@senate.ms.gov, kjones@senate.ms.gov, rparks@senate.ms.gov, wsimmons@senate.ms.gov, tsmith@senate.ms.gov, msojourner@senate.ms.gov, gtollison@senate.ms.gov, bturner@senate.ms.gov, bwiggins@senate.ms.gov

House Public Health and Human Services Committee

Sam C. Mims, V (R) Chair
(601)359-2430
(601)684-0281 (H)
smims@house.ms.gov

Toby Barker (R) Vice-Chair
(601)359-2436
(601)307-3802 (H) 
tbarker@house.ms.gov

Brian Aldridge (R)
(601)359-3373
(662)842-0401 (H) 
(662)841-5833 (W)
baldridge@house.ms.gov

Cecil Brown (D)
(601)359-3330
(601)362-8383 (H) 
(601)982-4123 (W)
cbrown@house.ms.gov

Kimberly Campbell Buck (D)
(601)359-2418
(601)982-4277 (H) 
(601)956-5771 (W)
kcampbell@house.ms.gov

Bryant W. Clark (D)
(601)359-4083
(662)834-4074 (H) 
(662)834-6133 (W)
bclark@house.ms.gov

Mary H. Coleman (D)
(601)359-3336
(601)982-0496 (H) 
(601)362-8105 (W)
mcoleman@house.ms.gov

Carolyn Crawford (R)
(228)452-5029 (H)
ccrawford@house.ms.gov

Becky Currie (R)
(601)833-5953 (H)
bcurrie@house.ms.gov

Dennis DeBar (R)
(601)394-4400 (W)
ddebar@house.ms.gov

James Evans (D)
(601)359-3349
(601)353-7464 (H) 
(601)948-0517 (W)
jevans@house.ms.gov

George Flaggs, Jr. (D)
(601)359-3328
(601)630-8004 (W)
gflaggs@house.ms.gov

Eugene Forrest Hamilton (R)
(601)359-2461
(662)895-5765 (H) 
(662)893-7400 (W)
efhamilton@house.ms.gov

John W. Hines, Sr. (D)
(601)359-4075
(662)335-9704 (H) 
(662)334-9444 (W)
jhines@house.ms.gov

Joey Hood (R)
(662)547-9818 (H) 
(662)285-4663 (W)
jhood@house.ms.gov

Kevin Horan (D)
(662)226-1817 (H) 
(662)226-2185 (W)
khoran@house.ms.gov

Bobby B. Howell (R)
(662)262-7171 (H) 
(662)262-4220 (W) 
bhowell@house.ms.gov

Hank Lott (R)
(601)758-4265 (H) 
(601)758-0800 (W) 
(601)606-0800 (C) 
hlott@house.ms.gov

Brad Mayo (R)
(601)359-2431
bmayo@house.ms.gov

Kevin McGee (R)
(601)829-9701 (H) 
(601)939-4910 (W)
kmcgee@house.ms.gov

Tom Miles (D)
(601)732-9511 (H) 
(601)469-7886 (W) 
tmiles@house.ms.gov

Bobby Moak (D)
(601)359-2860
(800)595-6244 (W) 
bmoak@house.ms.gov
bmoak@locnet.net

John Read (R)
(601)359-3338
(228)497-9852 (H) 
(228)497-4090 (W)
jread@house.ms.gov

Randy Rushing (R)
(601)635-2044 (H) 
(601)917-9504 (C) 
rrushing@house.ms.gov

Bobby Shows (R)
(601)359-3338
(601)477-9225 (H) 
bshows@house.ms.gov

Jeffrey C. Smith (R)
(662)327-0407 (H) 
(662)328-2711 (W) 
(662)328-0745 (F) 
jsmith@house.ms.gov

Jessica Upshaw (R)
(601)359-4084
(228)255-6619 (H) 
(228)867-6005 (W) 
jupshaw@house.ms.gov

Percy W. Watson (D)
(601)359-3343
(601)544-6490 (H) 
(601)545-1051 (W) 
pwatson@house.ms.gov

Linda Whittington (D)
(601)359-2845
(662)658-1241 (H) 
(662)455-2864 (W) 
lwhittington@house.ms.gov

Senate Public Health and Welfare Committee

Dean Kirby (R) Chair
(601)359-3234
(601)932-1966 (H) 
(601)939-5968 (W)
dkirby@senate.ms.gov

Hob Bryan (D) Vice Chair
(601)359-3237
(662)256-9989 (H) 
(662)256-9601 (W) 
hbryan@senate.ms.gov

David Blount (D)
(601)359-3232
dblount@senate.ms.gov

Terry C. Burton (R)
(601)359-3234
(601)683-7050 (H) 
(601)683-6695 (W)
tburton@senate.ms.gov

Nancy Adams Collins (R)
(601)359-3226
ncollins@senate.ms.gov

Merle Flowers (R)
(601)359-3221
(662)349-3983 (W) 
(662)349-3985 (F)
mflowers@senate.ms.gov

Hillman Terome Frazier (D)
(601)359-3246
(601)982-1871 (H) 
(601)359-5957 (F)
hfrazier@senate.ms.gov

Alice Harden (D)
(601)359-3232
aharden@senate.ms.gov

Josh Harkins (R)
(601)209-8448 (C)
jharkins@senate.ms.gov

W. Briggs Hopson III (R)
(601)359-3237
bhopson@senate.ms.gov

Gary Jackson (R)
(601)359-3221
(662)547-6684 (H)
gjackson@senate.ms.gov

Kenneth Wayne Jones (D)
(601)359-3232
(601)859-3438 (H) 
(601)859-8844 (W) 
kjones@senate.ms.gov

Rita Potts Parks (R)
(601)359-3252
(662)287-6323 (H) 
(662)415-4793 (C) 
rparks@senate.ms.gov

Willie Simmons (D)
(601)359-3237
(662)846-7434 (W) 
(662)846-7011 (F) 
wsimmons@senate.ms.gov

Tony Smith (R)
(601)359-3252
(601)749-4144 (W) 
(601)569-0691 (C) 
tsmith@senate.ms.gov

Melanie Sojourner (R)
(601)359-3250
(601)442-9664 (H) 
(601)334-6729 (C) 
msojourner@senate.ms.gov

Gray Tollison (R)
(601)359-3425
(662)234-7070 (W) 
gtollison@senate.ms.gov

Bennie L. Turner (D)
(601)359-3237
(662)494-5061 (H) 
(662)494-6611 (W)
bturner@senate.ms.gov

Brice Wiggins (R)
(228)696-9545 (H) 
(228)324-3232 (W) 
(601)510-9378 (F) 
bwiggins@senate.ms.gov